Google Translate Expands Offline Translation Feature to 33 New Languages

Google Translate is a powerful tool that helps people quickly and accurately translate phrases and sentences. The smartphone app allows users to download language packages for offline use, but not all languages are currently supported. However, Google is working to expand the offline translation feature to more languages. Recently, the company announced that it has added 33 new languages to the offline translation feature. This means that if you need to translate to or from any of these languages, you don’t need an internet connection as long as you have downloaded the appropriate language package.

The 33 new languages that have been added to the offline translation feature include: Basque, Cebuano, Chichewa, Corsican, Frisian, Hausa, Hawaiian, Hmong, Igbo, Javanese, Khmer, Kinyarwanda, Kurdish, Lao, Latin, Luxembourgish, Malagasy, Maori, Myanmar (Burmese), Oriya/Odia, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Sesotho, Shona, Sindhi, Sundanese, Tatar, Turkmen, Uyghur, Xhosa, Yiddish, Yoruba, and Zulu. Many of these languages have millions of native speakers, so this update greatly expands the reach of the offline translation feature.

If you want to take advantage of these new languages, make sure to update the Google Translate app on your smartphone. Once the update is installed, you can download offline translation packages for these new languages just like you would for other languages like Spanish or French. This can be especially useful for travelers who may find themselves in a country where one of these languages is spoken. With the offline translation feature, they will be able to communicate more easily and effectively.